CERF 2021 Workshops

Are you looking for a way to further enhance your CERF 2021 experience? Consider signing up for a workshop! We will be offering a diverse program of 16 workshops throughout the conference. These workshops represent an opportunity to receive valuable training in topics ranging from effective communications to technical web-based software.

All workshops have a limit to the number of participants to ensure maximum interactions and discussions. We encourage you to sign up for a workshop when registering for the CERF conference and take advantage of a low-cost, high-quality training opportunity. Please email the office at [email protected] with any questions.

Check out the workshops below:

*This schedule is tentative and subject to change.

Date Workshop Title
1 & 3 Nov.

Benthic Biophysics in Coastal Ocean Models

7:00 AM – 10:00 AM ET | 4:00 AM – 7:00 AM PT

1 Nov.

Increasing Collective Impact: Bridging Coastal Networks and Enhancing Collaborative Science

2:45 PM – 5:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 2:45 PM PT

 

Exploring Emerging Technologies through the SAV Community of Practice

2:45 PM – 5:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 2:45 PM PT

 

Open Science: Core Concepts for Impactful Research and Resource Management

2:45 PM – 6:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 3:45 PM PT

 

Monitoring Changing Shores: Methods, Management, and Data for the Future

2:45 PM – 6:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 3:45 PM PT

3 Nov.

Stories and Science: Blending Complementary Ways of Knowing Enhances Results

2:45 PM – 5:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM –2:45 PM PT

 

 SOLD OUT  Use R to Manipulate and Visualize Environmental Data I (Introductory Level)

2:45 PM – 4:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 1:45 PM PT

 

Connecting Land, Sea and Sky: A Virtual Birding Workshop

2:45 PM – 4:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 1:45 PM PT

 

Coastal and Estuarine Restoration: Identifying and Assessing Habitat Service Benefits to Fish and Invertebrates – Part I

2:45 PM – 5:45 PM ET 11:45 AM – 2:45 PM PT

8 Nov. & 9 Nov.

 SOLD OUT  Marine Spatial Data Mapping and Modelling in R

8:00 AM – 9:30 AM ET | 5:00 AM – 6:30 AM PT

8 Nov.

Addressing Implicit Bias to Promote Equity in CERF Science Disciplines*

 SOLD OUT  2:30 PM – 4:30 PM ET | 11:30 AM – 1:30 PM PT

&

 SOLD OUT  4:30 PM – 6:30 PM ET | 1:30 PM – 3:30 PM PT

*To maximize attendance, we are now offering this workshop at two separate times.

 

How to Use Field Sketchbooks to Realistically Record Scientific Observations

2:45 PM – 6:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 3:45 PM PT

 

Job/Fellowship Application Development for Early Career Professional

2:45 PM – 5:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 2:45 PM PT

 

Coastal and Estuarine Restoration: Identifying and Assessing Habitat Service Benefits to Fish and Invertebrates – Part II

2:45 PM – 5:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM –2:45 PM PT

9 Nov.

Brainwaves - Engaging Stakeholders to Co-Design Waterway Health Report Cards

2:45 PM – 4:15 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 1:15 PM PT

 

Flow-Through Microscopy (FlowCam®) for Estuarine Research and HAB Monitoring

2:45 PM – 4:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 1:45 PM PT

 

 SOLD OUT  Use R to Manipulate and Visualize Environmental Data II (Intermediate Level)

2:45 PM – 4:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 1:45 PM PT

 

The Coastal and Marine Ecological Classification Standard: A Technological Approach

2:45 PM – 4:45 PM ET | 11:45 AM – 1:45 PM PT