CERF 2023 Conference Committees

Conference Co-Chairs

John Callaway, University of San Francisco
John Rybczyk, Western Washington University
Martha Sutula, Southern California Coastal Water Research Project (SCCWRP)

Attendee Experience Committee


Chanda Littles, US Army Corps of Engineers
Johnny Quispe, The Nature Conservancy
Theresa Talley, California Sea Grant

Ambassadors Program 

Shelley Katsuki, Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Ashley Smyth, University of Florida

Family Friendliness

Allison Fitzgerald, New Jersey City University

Field Trips

Tom Josephson, Columbia River Estuary Study Taskforce

Mentoring Program

Allison Holevoet, University of the Virgin Islands
Geno Olmi, 
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Silent Auction

Beth Darrow, Bald Head Island Conservancy

Social Event

Britta Baechler, Ocean Conservancy and the International Coastal Cleanup

Social Media

Sara Grady, North and South Rivers Watershed Association

Student Career Networking Event

Ashley Bulseco, Woods Hole Marine Biological Laboratory
Geoffrey Cook, University of Central Florida

Student "On the Town" Night

Anita Arenas, California State University Long Beach

Student and Early Career Participation

Helen Cheng, Northeastern University
Brian Donnelly, Northeastern University

Wellness Group

Jim Hagy (running), US Environmental Protection Agency

Inclusive Culture Committee


Kristy Lewis, University of Central Florida
Jenni Schmitt, South Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve

Scientific Program Committee


Treda Grayson, US Environmental Protection Agency
Drew Talley, University of San Diego
Christine Whitcraft, California State University Long Beach

Cultural Heritage/Coastal Humanities

Matthew Bethel, Louisiana Sea Grant

Design Competition

Jori Ann Erdman, James Madison University
Tiffany Troxler, Florida International University


Michelle Woods, US Environmental Protection Agency

Oral Sessions

Amy Borde, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Katrina Poppe, 
Western Washington University
Kathryn Sobocinski, Western Washington University

Plenary Sessions

Sharon Herzka, Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada
Robert Twilley, Louisiana State University

Poster Sessions 

Pedro Morais, University of Algarve

Student Judging

Zack Darnell, University of Southern Mississippi
Kelly Darnell, University of Southern Mississippi


Kim de Mutsert, University of Southern Mississippi

CERF Conference Staff

Susan Park, Executive Director
Database Manager, Todd Fake
Megan Miller, Event Director
Louise Miller, Chief Operating Officer
Connor Blair Pfandler,
Marketing & Communications Manager